Are the “Terribles” over now?

They sure do look sweet.

There are certain warnings you get from other parents when your child is about to reach a particular milestone that are often times unsettling. Everyone is familiar with the term “the terrible twos,” but what most people fail to mention is that they are actually “the terrible threes.” When the girls turned three, I was actually starting to feel like there was a light at the end of the tunnel, until someone dropped this bomb on me.  How could this be? There’s no way it could get any worse.

I was wrong.

The terrible threes struck. And they struck for an entire year. In all honesty, I generally post the funny and good stuff that the girls say and do, but I could write a daily blog from all of the “not funny” stuff they do. Tantrums.Fighting. Screaming. Not listening. They almost became a part of our daily routine. I guess it was them developing their own personality and sense of individuality, which can be difficult when you’re a twin. To say the least, year three was definitely a learning experience in parenting.

Now don’t get me wrong, I think the world of the girls. They really are sweet, loving, outgoing, funny kids who most people enjoy having around. Most people are also worn out by their energy, but they are great girls and I wouldn’t trade them for anything in the world. I guess my question is, now that they’re 4 are we officially out of the “Terrible” phases? Please say yes.

One thought on “Are the “Terribles” over now?

  1. They now enter the “Frustrating Fours” stag. Continued independence and exploration, but something you would never want to miss.

Leave a Reply

