Mind your manners.

H-get my toy?
Me-ask nicely.
H-Get…
Me-ASK!
H-no I was singin a song called ‘Get’.
Me-oh really?
H-yeah…i just made it up.

When I was growing up, my mom always made it a point to have my brother and I follow our manners. Please. Thank you. Opening the door for a lady. Don’t get up from the table without asking. They were all very important for reasons I didn’t understand until later in life. My mom would stand at a door and just look at it until my brother and I picked up the hint and opened it for her. As we got older, people would make comments to our parents about what nice, polite boys we were and I know it made them proud.

Now, having kids of my own, I understand why it’s so important to teach them to be respectful. Even with the most rambunctious kid, a simple “please” and “thank you,” can go a long way with people. But, like anything in parenting, it’s about consistency and patience. It’s not that they don’t know their manners, but sometimes they need to be reminded to say a simple thank you when someone gives them something. No matter how cute they are, a little bit of rudeness can ruin it all.

I think the girls do a  good job of thanking people for things, which always makes me happy. Sometimes I do have to remind them, but more times than not, they’ve already said it. They’re pretty good about saying “please” when they want something, but sometimes demand things and have to be reminded of the magic words. But, when people go out of their way to tell me how sweet and polite my girls are, even when I think they’ve been bad, I’m more than thrilled. It shows that a simple ounce of politeness can go a long way. And it goes really far with me.

Leave a Reply

