I had an Atari 2600.

Playgrounds used to be slides and gravel

Judging by my girls’ ability to swiftly navigate an iPad, iPod touch and iPhone at only 4 years old, it’s easy to say that this generation of kids has it a little differently than when I grew up. At their age, my kids are more tech savvy than my father. Now that’s not a slam on him, it’s just an observation about the generational gap that becomes more clearly evident every time my kids sit down with my phone to play DoodleBuddy.

Just thinking back to my childhood, I had an Atari 2600 with sweet games like Pitfall, Frogger and Air Raid. My brother and I used to use sticks as guns when we played war in the woods behind our house. I learned to type on a typewriter. An actual typewriter. I’m sure my girls will see one in a museum some day. I watched Back to the Future 2 and just knew that some day it’d be just like that, with flying cars, touch-screen devices and giant digital boards everywhere.

Fast-forward 25 years and my kids are using every one of our iDevices for coloring, learning letters and playing games. I’m sure it’s only a matter of time before they’re showing us the coolest new apps on it. But, this brings me to my ultimate point, that kids have significantly cooler toys than I ever did. I’m sure my parents said the same thing about me, but wow, look how much has changed in the last couple of years alone. All of the devices I named above have come out in the last 4 or 5 years, which leads me to believe that it’s only going to get crazier. It’s fun to watch, but it’s also pretty scary to know that they have to be good with technology like this, or else they’ll be left behind. I’m sure when they’re in school they’ll be taking tests on the iPad 12 with all the rest of their classmates.

I know this is starting to sound like some sort of Apple commercial, but it’s really not. I think it’s so amazing the things my kids can already do with the technology that’s available and I’m happy I’m able to provide these cool things for them to play with and learn from. I can’t even begin to imagine what fun toys are going to come out as they get older. The possibilities are endless. I’m personally still waiting for the hover board to come out. It’s going to be awesome.

Here’s Elle shooting her first film…

  

Leave a Reply

