What in the…?

When I was a kid I never understood why my mom would get mad at me for saying things like Heck, Freakin, Crap, etc. I mean I wasn’t really saying the words was I? I was saying a relatively close alternative that started with the same letter, but it wasn’t actually the real word. Nothing wrong with that, right? Wrong. Especially when you hear your 4-year olds say “What the Heck is that?,” or “Dang it!”

Judging by the number of times I’ve had a bar of soap in my mouth as a kid, it’s clear that I didn’t exactly heed my parents warning to watch my mouth. Knowing how much I swear now, leads me to believe that this is like the gateway drug to full-on swearing.

After a recent trip to Nana and Pops, Elle came home with a new saying thanks to Pops. “What in the wide, wide world of sports is going on here?” If you can name that movie, I’m proud of you. Leave it to Pops to give her something better to say that’s not only good, but extremely funny to fans of Mel Brooks films.

I have no doubt that at some point they’re going to start using the real swear words associated with their “almost” terms, but under my watch, it’s still a punishable offense. Punishable with a bar of soap in the mouth. Actually we use baking soda, which is just as effective and tastes horrible without the possibility of causing blindness. Hopefully this will deter them from swearing until they’re at least 30. The same age they’re allowed to start dating.

Leave a Reply

