Just “frowin some woks”

The girls "frowin woks in the ribber"

Growing up on the banks of the Ohio River afforded me the opportunity to do many things, one of which I’ve recently found my girls love as well…throwing rocks. It’s an age old pastime that in theory sounds kind of dumb, but once you toss that first rock, you can’t stop searching for the next perfect stone to chuck.

A few weeks ago we went down to the river to say hi to the ducks and the geese. Unfortunately, they were out getting dinner somewhere else, so we decided to see how many rocks we could throw into the river. I’m gonna be honest, I don’t think I have to worry about them getting drafted into the majors any time soon, but overall they had a blast throwing countless rocks into the “ribber.”

Watching them took me back to my childhood, hunting for arrowheads, collecting driftwood for fires and trying to break bottles we’d thrown out into the water. It reminded me of my dad teaching me to skip a rock across the smooth surface of the water. He was amazing at it. He always managed to find the perfect rock and give it that perfect side-arm toss that made me believe it was going to actually skip all the way across to the other bank. It was a great reminder of how something so simple can be so much fun.

It also reminded me of that broken glass and I immediately had a vision in my head of stitches and tetanus shots. I know how my kids are with “accidents” and I just knew if something bad could happen, they’d find a way to make that possible. So I told the girls that I’d get their rocks from now on. No problems, just good times throwing rocks in the river. I can’t wait to teach them how to skip a rock. I guess I should practice a bit first…it’s been a while.

Leave a Reply

