The hardest part of having girls.

Elle, her pigtails and barrettes

 

Me- Elle you want your barrettes in to keep your hair out of your face?
E- Yes, and I want ponytails…braided…like Hudsy.
Me- Perfect. Why not?

 

I’ll admit that as a kid, I spent a good deal of time around my mom and my grandmothers, which presented me with the opportunity to learn things like cooking, sewing buttons back on, doing laundry and stuff like that. At some point in elementary/middle school, braided bracelets were the rage, so I learned how to braid and make my own. Little did I know that I was learning valuable skills that would help me out later in life. It was like Mr. Miyagi teaching Daniel how to scrub the floor. When my girls rip a button off their new pjs or when they need their hair braided into pigtails, I’m fully prepared. But that doesn’t mean I like it.

Now that my friends and cousins are starting to have kids, I often get asked “What’s the hardest part about having girls?” or “What advice can you give me about having girls?” My response is always canned and seems to be the same answer most dads give about having girls…”With boys you only have to worry about one penis. With girls you have to worry about millions.” It’s a bit overused and not completely true, but it’s usually the first thing that pops into my head. Yes, having girls is a bit more of a worry when the boys start coming around (in 26 years like we agreed), but I started to give it some thought recently and i think I’ve got a better answer…Fixing their hair.

I was standing in the bathroom the other night with Elle standing on the stool in front of the sink, patiently waiting for me to be done drying her hair with Huds sitting on the stool next to her waiting for her turn, when I realized “This is it!” This is the worst thing about having girls. I absolutely dread drying and fixing their hair. There’s a reason why boys are so much easier to get ready every day. No need (mostly) for multiple hair products, knots, big brushes, hair dryers, barrettes, bows, ponytail holders, clips, combs and whatever else it takes to get their hair in a presentable form. I bet half the time, parents of boys just look at them and send them on their way thinking “his hair looks good enough.” Not with girls though. It’s a whole different ballgame. One that requires a good chunk of your evening and morning routine to prepare for.

So, the next time someone asks me what the hardest part of having girls is, I have an answer for them. Fixing their hair. Everything else is a dream compared to that. Ok, that might be a bit of an overstatement, but it’s one of the only things I don’t look forward to every day. I guess that’s not too bad of a thing to worry about in the grand scheme of things, but all you new moms and dads out there, let me know what you think of my statement once they ask you to do pigtails…and braided…with barrettes. Won’t seem like such a bold claim then.

Hudson and her pigtails

 

 

 

 

One thought on “The hardest part of having girls.

  1. OMG! These girls are so cute! Having one little angel is good enough, but two? I wish! ( I cannot have children due to a childhood life threatening disease that rendered me unable to get pregnant.)
    Oh how I wish I could have a little girl to raise. I’d dress her in cute little outfits and braid and pigtail her hair and sing a pretty lullaby to her after she’s been put in bed for the night :-). Thank you for sharing the images of your cute little angels.

Leave a Reply

