Sibling Rivalry

This moment of sweetness brought to you by "Wow!"
This moment of sweetness brought to you by “Wow!”
Me-Are you playing ‘Slap Jacks’ against yourself?
H-Yeah, Elle won’t play with me.
Me-Ah…so are you winning?
H-Yeah I’m crushing this game

I knew it was coming. I’ve seen signs of it building for the last couple of years. There have been hints here and there along the way that have led me to believe things are going to get ugly at some point, I’ve just always hoped it would be later rather than sooner. Contrary to the photo above, a rivalry in it’s purest sense is rising.

When we found out we were having twins, one of the first things Tracey wished for was boys. I know that sounds bad, but it was rooted in good intentions. She, herself an identical twin, knew the competitive nature that exists not only between females, but how it’s exponentially heightened between twin girls. I’ve seen Tracey and Nicole in action and I’ve never had any doubt that it was coming to Hudson and Elle too. I hoped we could somehow push it off. Make them care for and love each other so much that they don’t compete with each other all the time. Yes, I realize just how stupid that sentence sounds as I typed it.

While it may have been building for the last couple of years, I’m officially saying it’s in full swing and this is no fun. The girls fight and argue about everything. They’re in a constant struggle for attention. They are in a constant struggle for independence, to have stuff of their own, time of their own and space of their own. I get it. They’re always together. Whether it’s when they’re with me, with Tracey, with their grandparents or with their cousins, they’re always together. And it makes them very, very competitive with each other.

One of the best examples I have of this is one day when I was fixing them lunch, they informed me that they no longer both like PB&J. Hudson only likes peanut butter, and Elle only like jelly on her sandwiches. At first I didn’t think much of it, but after weeks/months of them saying the opposite of the other one, just to say they did, I realized the root of their sandwich difference came to competition. The second Hudson decided to not like jelly, Elle immediately went the other way and took the jelly side. Just to be opposite. It’s weird.

The competition has spilled into everything from riding bikes (who can ride faster), to Candy Land, to Slap Jacks, to who gets their prayers said to them first before bed. I usually have some sort of clever wrap up to my posts that brings it all around, or shows that I’ve figured out an answer to all the problems, but in this case I’m not sure I have that pretty bow to wrap it all up. Some things, I realize, are out of parents’ control when it comes to stuff like this. Right now I’m just hoping they spend a little more time like they are above, loving each other and being very sweet to each other. If not, well then I guess I’ll always have this picture to look back on and remember when they were sweet to each other.

Leave a Reply

