Well S-h-!-t!

They don't need glasses to look smart. They already are.
They don’t need glasses to look smart. They already are.
E – …and you said the S-word.
Me – What? No I didn’t say the S-word.
E – Yes you did. You said it.
Me – When?
E – You said that was Stupid.
Me – Ohhhhh that S-word. Yeah…sorry I said that.
E – You should be sorry daddy.

Every parent wants their kid to be super smart, to be head of their class, to get a full scholarship to college and eventually become a doctor or something very important. You want them to do better than you did or what you’re currently doing. To be super successful and to eventually kick-back to mom and dad a sweet vacation home or something, because they love how you’ve inspired them to their success (he says looking off into the sky, dreaming of the day).

Anyways…where was I? Oh, that’s right…school. That’s why they go to school. To learn, become smart and start down that path towards success. Since the girls started kindergarten I’ve seen them grow academically by leaps and bounds from knowing their alphabet to being able to read full books to me for homework. I couldn’t be more proud of their progress. It’s really one of those “first steps” moments that you realize is a huge milestone.

As proud as I am, recently I’ve found a problem with them becoming smarter and I don’t like it one bit. Spelling words to talk around them is becoming increasingly more difficult. I spelled “i-c-e c-r-e-a-m” the other day and one of them looked at me and said, “are we getting ice cream?” My reaction, which  was initially shock, then disappointment, then turned to anger, that I’m not going to be able to spell stuff around them and keep them in the dark any more.

I mean, I’ve had to watch what I say around them for years based on their proclivity to repeat anything you say, like swear words. Well, I’ve tried to anyways. And if I haven’t, they’ve been quick to point out that I’ve used a bad word that they refer to by the first letter of the word (see conversation above). Not that they’ve totally grasped the concept of all the bad words out there, thank god, but I have a feeling it’s only a matter of time before they know them all. Hopefully they won’t use them though. At least to the extent that I do. (Damn, just typing this…I’m feeling like I really need to work harder on watching my mouth).

Back to my main point, that they now know how to spell, I guess this means I won’t be able to have my own secret language (spelling words) to talk around them anymore and that’s kind of sad. It’s just another example of how they’re growing up too f-word-ing fast and I can’t stop it.

Leave a Reply

