Twice the Irony

Check, check. Is this thing on?

Man, it’s been years since I’ve dusted off the old blog and documented some of the amazing things going on in our family. I was just reading a friend’s post and started to do a little reminiscing about how I used keep track of all the comings, goings and general chaos that followed the twins.

They were so stinking cute. The stories just wrote themselves.

The things they would say and do on a daily basis just amazed me. Then they hit a point where it wasn’t that funny anymore, and frankly, I was tired of trying to keep up. So, I took a nice long break from it. And it was a very, very much needed break.

So here we are, 3 years later and I find myself punching away at the keys again. A lot has obviously happened since I quite regularly recording things — Annie and I bought a house. We got married, had a baby (the chaos began again). We switched jobs. The girls are now 10 years old. Yep, I’ll let that sink in….

Okay, and we’re back.

So needless to say, it’s still pretty crazy around here, but things are getting to be a bit more fun. Rooney is no longer a little baby that we worry about the girls dropping. She’s mobile and chatty…and yes…even louder than her sisters. She’s also getting to the age where she’s saying and doing something new almost every day. She’s full of so much attitude and spunk, but at the same time, so freaking sweet.

It just seemed like a good time to pick it back up again.

I have a feeling this won’t be nearly as regular of a thing as it used to, but this time will be a bit different. It’ll be fun to document all the things Rooney’s doing, but also to see how things evolve in the relationship of her and the twins. It’s already one of my favorite things to watch, to see how she idolizes them and follows them around like a little puppy. And in turn, they absolutely adore her.

While Huds and Elle were the original “twice the funny,” I do find a small sense of irony in the idea that this is my second go around with little ones…so it’s still twice the funny, but there’s an added level for me.

Leave a Reply

